Statement of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Republic of South Ossetia

In connection with the fifth anniversary of the aggression of Georgia against RSO

South Ossetia is existing as an independent states during 22 years. During this period people of South Ossetia suffered three bloody wars unleashed by Georgia. Georgian bandits and regular forces wiped off the earth tens of Ossetian villages, carried out acts of genocide not only in South Ossetia but also on the territory of Georgia.

Five years past from the moment when during the opening of the Olympic Games in Beijing, after the speech given by Georgian leader M. Saakashivili through the central TV channels, assuring that Georgia will never use force against South Ossetia and Abkhazia, Georgia crushed all its military power on South Ossetia.

By its perfidious assault on South Ossetia, Georgia not only violated basic principals of the international law but neglected norms of civilized society.

Living quarters of sleeping Tskhinval and villages of the Republic incurred shelling and bombardments. For very short period of time were killed hundreds of peaceful people without any guilt. Thousands of people were left without houses and lost all their property earned all their lives. Georgian tanks and artillery were shooting in sight vehicles with refugees, public buildings and dwelling houses. Only the firmness, courage and dedication of the defenders of South Ossetia and timely inference of Russia allowed South Ossetia to outstand.

In August 2008, after Georgia peace-enforcement operation, President of Georgia signed the Medvedev-Sarkozi settlement plan. However, Georgia failed to fulfill its obligations and under different reasons systematically sabotages the Geneva Discussions process, evades from signing legally binding agreements on non-use of force against South Ossetia and Abkhazia. Georgia continues to present its aggression against South Ossetia as a war between Russia and Georgia.

Report of Tagliavini Commission, that thoroughly studied the causes of August 2008, confirms that in August 2008 it was Georgia that started a war against South Ossetia. South Ossetia had to use its right for self defense and apply for help to Russia as a guarantor in the frame of 1992 Sochi peaceful agreement. Under those circumstances Government of Russia decided to start the Georgia peace-enforcement operation, dictated not only by its international obligations but by highly ethical principles. Government of Russia recognized state independence of Republic of South Ossetia as the only way to insure safety of South Ossetia and Abkhazia.

New Government of Georgia is often accusing former Government, in the name of M. Saakashvili, in everything that happened in August 2008. Every new leader of Georgia accuses its predecessor to present himself in a better way. However, policy of the new Georgian authorities does not differ from policies of the their predecessors. Tbilisi still does not want to recognize the existing realities. Using phobias of the Western countries, that remained from the cold war times, Georgia presents itself as a victim of mythological Russian aggression, claiming territories of South Ossetia and Abkhazia. With all the smartness of Tbilisi political manipulators, this only increases the tensions that does not coincide with true aspirations of the two nations.

Georgia should refrain from its attempts to confuse the International Community with manipulations and free interpretation of facts, sign a non-use of force agreement and start South Ossetia/Georgia border delimitation and demarcation process. This would help to decrease the tensions at the bordering territories and start building trust between the two countries.

South Ossetia highly appreciates value of peace and security and strives for strengthening of regional security through interaction with the regional countries and cooperation with International Organizations. South Ossetia again confirms its committal to basic principles and norms of the International Law, open dialogue and cooperation with all the members of the International Community.


Tskhinval , 8 August 2013